Richard Avedon

Richard Avedon (May 15th, 1923 – October 1st, 2004) was an American fashion and portrait photographer.

Avedon is well known for his fashion photography but it is his portraits that astound me. This portrait of William Casby (1923-2004) had a profound effect on me. I first saw it at an exhibition at the National Portrait gallery in Canberra. William was born into slavery in Algiers, Louisiana, USA.  His face haunts me with the look of ?Why me? and the pain, indignity and stoicism he needed to endure and survive.

william

 

I hope, someday, to capture a portrait as strong and memorable as this.

Leave a Reply

